National Merit® Scholarship Program

About the program:

“The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®)—which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.”1


  1. Take the PSAT/NMSQT® in the specified year of the high school program and no later than the third year in grades 9 through 12, regardless of grade classification or educational pattern.
  2. Must be a high school student and planning to accept admission to college no later than the fall following completion of high school.
  3. Must be a U.S. Citizen or lawful permanent resident.

Amounts may vary.

For more information, visit the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

1. National Merit® Scholarship Program.

Leave a Reply